From Staff Reports

Awardees for the 23rd Annual Youth Art Show, “Celebration of Our History, Heritage and Future of Navarro County,” have been announced for this year.

Juror for the contest was professional artist and college art instructor, Laura Briseno. Students were judged in three categories: Elementary (Pre-K through Fourth Grade), Middle School (fifth Grade through Eighth Grade), and High School. Cash awards were given to the first, second, and third place winners in each category.  There were over 200 entries.

First: Charlette Stewart – Bowie
Second: Yamaleth – Carroll (Fourth grade)
Third: Analia Camacho – Bowie
Honorable Mentions:
Luke McSpadden – Bowie
Brianna Gonzales – Bowie
Azaeviah Terry – Carroll
Breanna – Carroll (Kindergarten)
Brody Jackson – Navarro

Junior High/ Middle:
First: Prez Rios – CMS
Second: Wesley Grant Herrin – Collins
Third: Chloe Motley – CMS
Honorable Mentions:
Kimberly Hernandez – Collins
Jahzary Cummings – Collins
Alanna Williams – CMS
Jordan Dotson – Collins
Ryan Briton – Collins
Easton Smithart – Collins
Gabriel Hernandez – Collins

High school:
First: Alicia Beltran – Rice HS
Second: Laura Towles – CHS
Third: Marqual Felix and Braylyn Brandon – CHS
Honorable Mentions:
Orian Gaston – CHS
Christian Valdez – CHS
Yadhira Cura – Rice HS
Gabriel Hawthorne – Dawson HS

Special award: Best In Show
Analuisa Duran – Rice HS

The Youth Art Show will remain on exhibit at the Warehouse Living Arts Center Gallery until Tuesday, May 17.  Gallery hours are 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday through Friday. For more information, call the Arts Council at 903-872-5411.

Please be sure to support those that support us here at the NCG and check out our advertisers:
CANA Girl Speaks Podcast | Warehouse Living Arts Center | Salvation Army | CWTP Copy Center I.O.O.F. Trade Days | Gallery Wah Wah

A big THANK YOU to our supporters.
If you too would like to help financially support the Navarro County Gazette please email us at

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: