From Staff Reports

PRESS RELEASE: The Poetry Society of Texas is proud to announce its 100 year anniversary celebration this year.

Founded Nov. 5, 1921 in Texas by 7 charter members: Hilton Ross Greer of Dallas, Therese Lindsey of Tyler, Whitney Montgomery of Eureka, Karle Wilson Baker of Nacogdoches, Clyde Walter Hill of Dallas, Louella Styles of Vincent of Dallas, and Jewell Wurtzbaugh of Stephenville.

Montgomery is notable for having come to Texas in 1866, and has a historical family marker on Hwy 287 in Eureka honoring his contributions.

The purpose of the Society is to secure fuller public recognition of the art of poetry, to encourage the writing of poetry by Texans, and to kindle a finer and more intelligent appreciation of poetry, especially the work of living poets who interpret the spirit and heritage of Texas.

The Poetry Society of Texas is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation. A member of the National Federation of State Poetry Societies, Inc.

To learn more about this unique organization, please visit the Poetry Society of Texas website.

For more information and/or questions please e-mail J Darrell Kirkley, Director of the Poetry Society of Texas, or call 214-957-8616.

Please be sure to support those that support us here at the NCG and check out our advertisers:
Goin’ Postal | Oiltown Comics | CANA Girl Speaks Podcast | Warehouse Living Arts Center | Salvation Army

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: